Kentucky Works

Frequently Asked Questions

​​Frequently asked questions

Here are ​answers to some of the most commonly asked questions we get here at the Kentucky Career Center. Don’t see your question? Drop us an email.


​Apprenticeship training is distinguished from other types of workplace training by several factors:
  • Apprenticeships are jobs! Apprentices earn wages from their employers during training.
  • Apprenticeship programs provide on-the-job learning and job-related classroom training.
  • On-the-job learning is conducted in the work setting under the direction of a mentor(s).
  • Training results in an industry-recognized and portable credential.​

​Creating an apprenticeship program that is registered with, and approved by, the state usually takes two to three weeks.​

The Registered Apprenticeship program offers access to o​ver 1,500 career areas, including the following top occupations: Carpenter, Chef, Child Care Development Specialist, Construction Craft Laborer, Dental Assistant, Electrician, Elevator Constructor, Fire Medic, Law Enforcement Agent, Over-the-Road Truck Driver, and Pipefitter.

​Internships are short-term, while apprenticeships often last for several years. During the training period, apprentices follow a structured training plan that allows them to master occupational skills in the context of an employer’s organization and spend several hours a week learning general and theoretical content in the classroom.​

If you have an employee who qualifies under any of the target groups, ​  please ​go to this page for instructions on how to apply

​Employers of all sizes are eligible to claim the WOTC. This includes both taxable and certain tax-exempt employers. While taxable employers claim the WOTC against income taxes, tax-exempt employers can only claim the WOTC against payroll taxes and for wages paid to a qualified Veteran group.​

​Employers may claim the Work Opportunity Tax Credit for a total of two years. Employers who do not take the full credit amount because of the tax liability limitation may carry back one year or forward 20 years.​

​Employers may not request certification on former employees who have been rehired. The employee must have been WOTC-qualified and certified as such only the first time he/she was hired by the employer.​

​The 28-day rule means that you have to screen the employee on or before their job offer date, and submit all the respective documents to the Department of Labor within 28 days of that employee's start date.​

​The Kentucky Unemployment Tax Credit program provides employers a credit of $100 per eligible hire against Kentucky income taxes owed when they hire residents who have been unemployed or underemployed for 60 days and remain on the payroll for at least 180 days.​

If you have an employee who qualifies under any of the target groups listed above, go to this page for instruc​tions on how to apply​.

​The bonds protect the employer against losses caused by the fraudulent or dishonest acts of the bonded employee. Examples of such acts of employee dishonesty include: theft, forgery, larceny, and embezzlement.​

Employers receive the bond free of charge as an incentive to hire new applicants. Each bond has a $5,000 limit with a $0 deductible covering the first six months of a selected individual’s employment. There is no charge to the applicant either, these bonds are available at no cost for both the employer and employee.

​A company can request bonds between $5,000 and $25,000 per individual, depending on the position and approval.​

Yes. Each bond covers a 6-month term and may be renewed for an additional 6 months at no cost.

Yes. Long-term assignments, minimum of six months to complete, are eligible for a bond.​

We love hearing from business owners.
Here's how you can reach us.

Contact Us